N4CSGA Spring 2020 Awards

N4CSGA Spring 2020 Awards

Daryl Mitchell Award for Outstanding Students

Daryl Mitchell played a significant role in the success of the N4CSGA during his tenure as president. This award is given in his honor to a student who demonstrates the leadership qualities upon which the organization is founded. The students honored with this award demonstrate the six pillars of character: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, and citizenship. Those honored use the six pillars of character to serve their community and local community college. One student from each division will be selected as an “Outstanding Student.”

This year’s Central Division winner is Jacob Mohammad from Rowan Cabarrus Community College.
This year’s Western Division winner is Jeremy Brown from Forysth Technical Community College. 

The Dr. Michael Taylor Award

During his tenure as the N4CGSA Liaison, Dr. Michael Taylor provided a greater connection between the North Carolina Community College System President’s Association and the N4CSGA. Dr. Taylor is the embodiment of servant-leadership. He encourages leaders to serve others while achieving results that reflect the organization’s values and integrity. The Dr.’s wiMichael Taylor Award is given to a student whose work has enhanced the growth of others in their organization, increased teamwork and personal involvement, while helping the organization reach its potential. This student exemplifies a desire to lead by serving others in their community, on their campus, or in the community college system.

This year’s winner is Kristen Henderson from Forsyth Technical Community College. 

The Eddie Myers Outstanding Advocacy Award

During his tenure at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College Eddie Myers, was tireless in his commitment to community college students particularly those students involved in student government.   The Eddie Myers Outstanding Advocacy Award is presented to an individual who has committed themselves to promoting and implementing positive change and advocacy on their campus and in the community. This student has demonstrated a willingness to take the lead when it comes to change and has demonstrated the ability to motivate others to embrace change.

This year’s winner is Amber Sayles from Davidson County Community College. 

The Outstanding Community Service Award

The Outstanding Community Service Award is given to an individual who has performed exemplary community service, made significant contributions to enhance the quality of life in their community, and demonstrated an understanding of his or her responsibility to one’s community.

This year’s winner is Christian Duggins from Forsyth Technical Community College. 

Top “C” Campus Award

The Top “C” Award is presented to the school that demonstrates the qualities consistent with the community tradition that the 58 colleges represent. It is based upon the SGA’s involvement and interaction on campus as well as in the community. The N4CSGA recognizes each community college’s effort to promote fellowship and citizenship among students and the community college’s SGA that symbolize outstanding commitment.

This year’s winner is Davidson County Community College.